I spent International Women’s Day watching Captain Marvel and writing down some bottled-up thoughts

Is this my first non-bookish post ? Why yes, it is. I must warn you the further you go it gets a little personal as my thoughts on Captain Marvel movie transitions into my thoughts as a woman on this day.

I spent International Women's Day watching Captain Marvel and writing down some bottled-up thoughts
Image credit: Pyramid International.com; Quote: from movie

8th of March has been an extra special day for me because of three reasons:

  • It is International Women’s Day!
  • It is the day after my birthday ! *I’ll explain below*
  • Captain Marvel releases today!

First, I’m gonna ramble about Captain “badass” Marvel movie starring: Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, Jude Law, Ben Mendelsohn, Djimon Hounsou, Lee Pace, Gemma Chan, Lashana Lynch, Algenis Perez Soto, Rune Temte, Mckenna Grace, Clark Gregg You may consider it my spoiler-free review.

“Have you ever seen a little girl run so fast she falls down? There’s an instant, a fraction of a second before the world catches hold of her again…A moment when she’s outrun every doubt and fear she’s ever had about herself and she flies. In that moment, every little girl flies.”

Captain Marvel Vol 8 #1

It was pretty significant to watch a first day, first show of this epic superhero movie. Not only Cap Marvel is the first movie in the Marvel franchise to have a female lead but she is said to be THE most powerful superhero in the franchise.

#NotreallyaSpoiler The beginning will make you super emotional as it is a tribute to Stan Lee and you’ll probably bawl your eyes out like I did. After the montage, we see Brie Larson waking up in a new world with a new name “Vers” and immediately after we see her wake up the commander (Jude Law) to spar. I love Brie Larson’s moves here and I know my girl has trained so much for this role and it shows! What also shows is her glowing fist..*Now, this is the point I imagined Iron Fist scowling and saying..Hey girl, you’re coping me..* Well, Iron Fist, watch the rest of the damn movie to see that the glowing fists are nothing but the beginning of the show.

The movie progresses on really well and I have no idea why I heard someone complaining that it was a bit lengthy. Captain Marvel might be touted as a feminist movie but it also shows us what happens when A.I. (Artificial Intelligence) controls an entire nation. It is scary as hell and you will know why when you watch the movie.

When Cap Marvel ‘literally’ lands on Earth, she is questioned and semi-arrested by S.H.I.E.L.D agent Fury (JUST Fury). Fury is looking so young and good looking and Coulson too..like the entire hall screamed and whistled at their appearance. Then, there are the “evil” Skrull’s who she has to hunt down because she’s a Kree “noble” warrior. Not only she has to track down rogue Skrulls but find a scientist whom she knew in her past life and become the victim of catcalling.. And SHE handles all of her problems as ALL FEMALES do ..effortlessly to the tune of Gwen Stefani singing Just a Girl .

Maria Rambeau: Thought we’d show these boys how we do it. You ready?
Carol Danvers: Higher, further, faster, baby.
Maria Rambeau: That’s right..

– Captain marvel movie

This is the moment when viewers will see a woman driving away with a stolen bike and I thought I would love to do the same. You see, when I asked my uncle to teach me how to drive a “bike”(a motorcycle), he responed with a hefty dose of sexism: ” Girls can’t ride a bike. You won’t be able to sit without falling or make turns or move.” I was like, ” Uncle, you do know there are bikes of different sizes right ? I am SURE that I can one capable of riding but thank you for refusing to teach me because I’m not a boy.” Watching Brie Larson riding a bike and smoothly making her way through a highway reminded me of this moment and I vowed that someday I’ll be riding one too.

Back to the movie discussion. Vers/ Brie Larson/ Carol Denvers(that’s Cap Marvel’s real name) along with *Call me* Fury goes on a journey to help recover Carol’s memories and along the way, not only she gets back all her memories but she opens her eyes to some hard truths too. You need only wait a couple more excrutiating minutes to witness the glory of CAPTAIN MARVEL’s powers. Thanos is screwed and he’s about get a real hefty dose of this women’s wrath soon.

I loved the movie and its showcase of feminism in such an epic way but, come on writers! Was the anatomy joke in the autopsy scene necessary ? *ughhh*

Beside that cringe-y moment, Captain Marvel made me emotional, made me feel empowered, happy..no ..ecstatic and hopeful. Little Carol Denvers childhood scenes reminded me of my own childhood and her present scenes reminded me of my own present state…when I would run too fast for the boys, when I would play with the boys, every time I had to REGRET that I was a woman. I thought back to the days I was ashamed of having my period or wearing a LBD or my “revealing” bra strap. I thought of the countless times men would look at my breasts before making eye contact -or sometimes even forgoing eye contact- or my butt like it was a pretty art to inspect and buy. I thought of the times I had to PROVE myself because I was a woman, I was too feminine ..I was too much this or that. I thought back to the day when my brother told me that I was too emotional to be a doctor. Really? You think I’ll cry or *oh my god* faint when I’ll see someone in need. Get real. Yeah, I said that through tears in my eyes and report card in my hands.


Now, back to the bullet point no. 2 . WHY INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY IS IMPORTANT TO ME. Because of what i went and still go through as a woman, because my birth someone felt even more significant to me…like I had a purpose. Well, I do have a purpose as a human and a woman to support women, encourage women and help people understand that FEMINISM means equality for men and women. International Women’s day is even more significant when I hear that every day 137 women are killed by a member of their own family; that eeveryday 848 rapes are “reported” in India alone; that 300 million women alive today have undergone genital mutilation; that 15 million adolescent girls have been forced into sex; 650 million women today were married before the age of 18; that 82% of women in parliament have experienced violence, harrassment, or abuse of a sexual nature; that 87,000 women were murdered last year – 30,000 of them by their partners. I haven’t included numbers and statistics on female infanticide, trafficking, pay gap or education yet . If I did, you’d dicovers more horrors in the shape of numbers and stats.

I had to debate with myself a lot about posting this. No matter how hard I tried to post an objective review or discussion of the movie, I couldn’t do it. I don’t think many people will read this but if YOU are reading this and understanding me then talk to me in the comments below. Tell me why INTL. WOMEN’S DAY is significant for you or talk to me about your experiences as a woman or your frustrations or expectations.

LITTLE REMINDER DUE TO WOMEN’S DAY BUT FOR EVERY DAY : YOU’RE NOT JUST A LITTLE GIRL OR JUST A WOMAN. YOU’RE UNSTOPABLE, YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL ( yes, whatever the colour of your skin, scars , moles , freckles, strech marks and everything), YOU’RE LOVED. THERE IS NO DEFINITION OF BADASS. YOU KICK ASS WITH YOUR SHYNESS, WITH YOUR SMARTNESS, WITH YOUR WORDS, YOUR ACTIONS, YOUR HUMOUR, YOUR CLEVERNESS. YOU ARE CAPABLE.

THE LAST POST by Renee Carlino – COVER REVEAL

A brand new  evocative and poignant standalone from USA TODAY Bestseller Renee Carlino releasing on AUGUST 20th, 2019! 

In this evocative and poignant novel from the USA TODAY bestselling author of Blind Kiss and Wish You Were Here, a young widow in the midst of grieving her late husband through Facebook posts learns to heal and fall in love again. 

“See you on the other side.”

Laya Marston’s husband, Cameron, a daredevil enthusiast, always said this before heading off on his next adventure. He was the complete opposite of her, ready and willing to dive off a cliff-face, or parachute across a canyon—and Laya loved him for it. But she was different: pragmatic, regimented, devoted to her career and to supporting Cameron from the sidelines of his death-defying feats.

Opposites attract, right?

But when Cameron dies suddenly and tragically, all the stages of grief go out the window. Laya becomes lost in denial, living in the delusion that Cameron will come back to her. She begins posting on his Facebook page, reminiscing about their life together, and imagining new adventures for the two of them.

Micah Evans, a young and handsome architect at Laya’s father’s firm, is also stuck––paralyzed by the banal details of his career, his friendships, and his love life. He doesn’t know what he’s looking for, only that there is someone out there who can bring energy and spirit to the humdrum of his life.

When Micah discovers Laya’s tragic and bizarre Facebook posts, he’s determined to show Laya her life is still worth living. Leaving her anonymous gifts and notes, trying to recreate the sense of adventure she once shared with her late husband, Micah finds a new passion watching Laya come out of the darkness. And Laya finds a new joy in the experiences Micah has created for her.

But for Laya, letting another man in still feels like a betrayal to her late husband. Even though Micah may be everything she could wish for, she wonders if she deserves to find happiness again.

Written with Renée Carlino’s signature “tender and satisfying” (Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Maybe in Another Life) prose, this warm and compassionate novel shows us how powerful the courage to love and live again truly is.


PREORDER NOW

AMAZON | B&N | APPLE BOOKS | KOBO | Simon&Schuster


Renée Carlino is a screenwriter and bestselling author of contemporary women’s novels and new adult fiction. Her books have been featured in national publications, including USA TODAY, Huffington Post, Latina magazine, and Publisher’s Weekly. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she’s not at the beach with her boys or working on her next project, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate. Learn more at www.reneecarlino.com

FACEBOOK  WEBSITE  TWITTER  INSTAGRAM

Ebook Blog Tour ​: I’ll Find You by Liz Lawler

I'll Find You by Liz Lawler

Don’t Wake Up, Liz Lawler’s debut novel, sold over 200,000 copies and was Bonnier Zaffre’s breakout psychological thriller of 2017.

I’ll Find You, her second novel, promises to be an even more heart-stopping and electrifying read.Perfect for fans of TM Logan and Leslie Kara, I’ll Find You will keep you guessing until the very last page. Read on for the synopsis of I’ll Find You by Liz Lawler

Ebook Blog Tour ​: I'll Find You by Liz Lawler

Synopsis : Emily Jacobs, a nurse, wakes up in hospital. Woozy from the anaesthetic she sees a Doctor frantically trying to resuscitate the woman in the bed next to her. But when she wakes up the patient is no longer there.

She’s told she had a nightmare. She dreamt it. The bed has been empty all along…

When she discovers a bracelet she believes belongs to the missing women she soon becomes convinced that her colleagues at the hospital are hiding a terrible secret. 

What if she’s wrong? Has her troubled past come back to haunt her, twist her mind against her colleagues and friends?

But what if she’s right? 
What else could they be capable of?

Continue reading “Ebook Blog Tour ​: I’ll Find You by Liz Lawler”