Mini-reviews:​ ARC edition

Emma and the City cover

Hello everyone! In this article, I will do bite-sized reviews of four e-ARCs I received from NetGalley. One of these titles have already published, and the rest have yet to be released.

1.) Emma And The City by Amy Hilliges(picture above)

→ Released 18 Sep 2018

Synopsis: It-girl and blogger Emma Worth has it all: beauty, brains, connections and a fabulous Manhattan apartment. But under the surface, she’s got a huge hole in her life and tries to fill it . . . in all the wrong ways, from playing Cupid to chasing celebrity pipe dreams. Emma’s neighbor Adam Knightley thinks she’s got her priorities all wrong, but Emma knows better . . . Or does she?

When Emma’s matchmaking backfires and her actions result in scandal, will she finally learn what’s important and change her ways? Or will her desire for the one thing she doesn’t have cause her to risk the one thing she never knew she wanted?

If you’re a fan of heartwarming romantic comedies, you’ll devour this grippingly entertaining, thoroughly original retelling of Jane Austen’s timeless classic.

Review: Since I love retellings, I jumped at the chance to review this. I did not like this version of the retelling. Emma’s character felt far too haughty compared to the Austen’s Emma. This had the potential to be an enjoyable modern retelling if the story was executed properly. I liked some of the changes in this one, but they couldn’t redeem the book anyhow. This one gets 3 out of 5 stars from me.

2.) The Magnolia Inn by Carolyn Brown

IMG_20180918_171905-01.jpeg

→ To be released on 15 Jan 2019

Synopsis: Inheriting the Magnolia Inn, a Victorian home nestled in the East Texas pines, is a fantasy come true for Jolene Broussard. After living with the guilt of failing to rescue her self-destructive mother, Jolene knows her aunt and uncle’s B&B is the perfect jump start for a new life and a comforting place to call home. There’s just one hitch: stubborn and moody carpenter Tucker Malone. He’s got a half interest in the Magnolia Inn, and he’s planting his dusty cowboy boots squarely in the middle of her dream.

Ever since his wife’s death, Tucker’s own guilt and demons have left him as guarded as Jolene. The last thing he expects is for his new partner to stir something inside him he thought was gone forever. And as wary as Jolene is, she may have found a kindred spirit—someone she can help, and someone she can hold on to.

Restoring the Magnolia Inn is the first step toward restoring their hearts. Will they be able to let go of the past and trust each other to do it together?

Review: Although I like a good romance book, this one didn’t make me fall in love with it. In the first few chapters, I didn’t like Tucker. I was so frustrated with the storyline that I kept screaming at the book…err.. my e-reader. Ignoring that, I found the setting of the story beautiful. I loved the way Tucker and Jolene finally got together. Overall, it is a good romance book, and I think that many romance readers will love it. Magnolia Brown is my first Carolyn Brown read, and I was impressed by her writing. I give this 3 out of 5 stars.

3.) The Six Loves of Billy Binns by Richard Lumsden

cover147855-medium.png

→ To be released on 24 Jan 2019

Synopsis: THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group fiction perfect for those who loved the quirky pathos of Gail Honeyman’s ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and the warmth and humor of Rachel Joyce’s THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY.

At 117 years old, Billy Binns is the oldest man in Europe and he knows his time is almost up. But Billy has a final wish: he wants to remember what love feels like one last time. As he looks back at the relationships that have shaped his life – and the events that shaped the century – he recalls a life full of hope, heartbreak and, above all, love.

Review: This book is about a 117 old man who reminisces about his love life. He wants his son Archie to know him as a man who loved and lived a full life. I liked the plot but I didn’t like the story. There’s less description of love and more about lovemaking. The book had potential but sadly, it didn’t live up to it. This one takes 2 out of 5 stars.

4.) Daughter of Light and Shadows by Anna McKerrow

IMG_20180918_170807-01.jpeg

 

→ To be released on 16 Oct 2018

Synopsis: Faye Morgan – beautiful, independent and lonely – runs her family’s small shop of magical curiosities like her mother and grandmother before her. She longs for an escape, unaware of the dark power that flows through her veins…

When Faye casts a spell into the sea one cold morning, her call brings her to the attention of the wild and impulsive faerie king Finn Beatha. Finn pulls Faye into an intoxicating new world, both magical and treacherous… and as bewitching as Finn himself, who seems to command every part of her when he’s near.

As Faye’s passion for Finn grows, so does her fear that she might be there for some darker reason and that she could be trapped in Faerie forever. Is there something in Faye’s past connecting her to this place, to Finn? And dare she find out more when every moment draws her further away from her old world?
A gorgeously sexy and action-packed read, perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Shannon Mayer and Laini Taylor. You’ll never want to put this book down!

Warning: contains magick, steamy scenes, witchcraft and cliffhangers!

Review: I did not like the book. There is no character development, and the plot was confusing as well. The ending was promising, but as the story progressed, I struggled with relating to the story. I love faerie fantasy worlds, but this one fell flat for me. This one takes 1 out of 5 stars.

20180918_201033_0001.pngI want to thank NetGalley and the publishers for accepting my requests for ARC and the authors for writing the books.

Please follow my blog and/or comment below if you have read any of the above ARCs or want to recommend any book. Thank you for reading!

 

 

 

Author: Book Rambler

Hi! I'm Shalini. I am an avid reader, daydreamer, future scientist. In order to ramble about books with you, I created this blog. You can find me here and on any of my social media channels.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.