Review:​ Everless by Sara Holland

32320661

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

Synopsis: In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

2018-Sep-01_20-20-53-01

Review: Everless is another YA Fantasy read and of course, my first book in September! This book introduces us to a mythical land where blood is time and time is money.  I found this concept really interesting. The prologue is intriguing and hooks readers right away.

This is author Sara Holland’s debut novel and although, this is not a spectacular debut it does shine in some parts. The reader doesn’t have to read long to get pulled into the plot and the heart of the action. Jules, the protagonist, is seen heading to the Everless estate and straight to dangerous ground.

Seventeen-year-old Jules Ember is desperate to help her ailing father, put a roof over their head and stay out of debt. Despondent, Jules arrives at a decision to sell her blood for coin but due to a commotion at the bloodletters’, she is forced to flee home. Later, Jules makes the difficult choice to take a job in the Everless estate, the place she grew up in when her father was the blacksmith. Jules and her father had to flee the comfort of the Everless estate after being witness to an incident between Lord Liam Gerling and his brother Roan, Jules’s friend.

Jules’ life starts crashing down after her arrival at Everless. She loses someone very close to her and on the top of that, she receives an ominous warning to stay away from the Queen at all costs. As expected, Jules doesn’t heed the warning and gets a position as the Queen’s handmaiden. Now, Jules can get access to all of the Queen’s secrets like finding out if the Queen really eats the heart of her daughters to stay alive.

There is an indication of a romance, but it is unexpected. Roan, Jules’ friend, is also her crush, but he is to be married to the Queen’s daughter. Here comes the bad boy Lord Liam, whom Jules hated to the fiber of her being, but is ambivalent towards him now.

Besides the romance, we can also see some tragic albeit almost-realistic situation happening in some chapters. There is a vast difference in the way of living between the aristocrats – residing in Everless- and the people living in the surrounding towns. While the aristocrats use the blood coins daily, using them as a sugar cube in their tea; some people can barely get by living as they have to sell what’s left of their time to earn a meager living.

The book ended with a cliffhanger and left the reader wanting to know the future of Jules, the kingdom, and a possible romance.

IMG_20180901_202353-01.jpeg

Everless is based on a unique concept: using time as currency and this is the only thing I found of interest in this book. The writing was simple, the way of reveling the mysteries was enjoyable. However, I wasn’t in anticipation of what might happen next. I didn’t feel any connection to Jules. Jules showed promise for being a fierce heroine, but in the end, she just didn’t stand out. She felt generic in every way possible. Her determination to save her father wasn’t enough to make her a stand-out YA fantasy heroine. Not only Jules, but none of the characters were memorable enough for me.

Again, I want to emphasize that Everless was a good YA fantasy book. I would definitely recommend it someone who has trouble with finding a suitable YA book because this isn’t filled with bad language or adult situations. I still hope to read Evermore, the next book in the planned duology because of the cliffhanger in the end.

You don’t know brokenness.Not until the person you love most in the world dies in your arms.

Verdict: I give this book a 3 out of 5 stars.

About Author: Sara Holland grew up in small-town Minnesota among hundreds of books. She graduated from Wesleyan University and worked in a tea shop, a dentist’s office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city’s bookstores or finding new ways to put caffeine in her bloodstream. EVERLESS is her debut novel.

**Publisher: HarperTeen

    Publication Date: January 2018    

    Paperback: 362 Pages

Click on the pictures(links) below if you want to buy the book on Amazon.

    

Or,if you want to buy the books on BookDepository :

1.) Everless(paperback)

2.) Evermore(paperback)

Rate this article :

Author: Book Rambler

Hi! I'm Shalini. I am an avid reader, daydreamer, future scientist. In order to ramble about books with you, I created this blog. You can find me here and on any of my social media channels.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.